You are here

Rabbi Candidate Visits

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

The Rabbi Search Committee, is very pleased to announce that we will be hosting two rabbi candidates in February for weekend visits at Beit Am.  Please mark your calendars and plan to attend!

David Eber will join us from February 16-18.  He will be a 2018 graduate from the Reconstructionist Rabbinical College.

Josh Weisman will join us from February 23-25.  He will be a 2018 graduate from the Rabbinical School of Hebrew College.  

Our weekend schedule will be as follows:


  5:30-6:15   Family Shabbat 

  6:15-7:30   Potluck Dinner

  7:30-9:00  Kabbalat Shabbat followed by dessert oneg


  9:30-12:00  Sim Shalom

  12:00-1:30  Potluck lunch

  1:30-2:30  Torah Study


  10:00-10:30  Tefilah for 4th grade and younger

  11:30-12:00  Tefilah for 5th through 7th grade

There will also be a question and answer session.  On Saturday, February 17th it will be from 7:30-8:30, followed by a dessert reception.  

On Sunday, February 25th Q&A will be from 2:00-3:00.  This shift in schedule is to accommodate the Progressive Dinner the evening of Saturday, February 24th.

I am writing today not only to tell you about the schedule of our candidate's visits, but also to encourage you to attend as many events as you can and reply to the post-visit surveys.  During these visits, we are evaluating the candidates, and they are also evaluating us, trying to gauge if our community feels like a good fit.  I would love for the candidates to meet as many of you as possible to really get a sense of the full breadth of who we are as a community.

In the same spirit, I would also like to request that we not discuss our candidates on the listserv.  Please save any questions that you have and ask them directly during our weekend events.  We will also post video footage of the Q & A for those who are not able to attend in person.

If you have any questions about the search, please feel free to get in touch Tanya or any member of the search committee.  Members of the committee are:

  • Tanya Katz, Chair of the Rabbi Search Committee
  • Susan Aronson    
  • Myra Blatt
  • Neil Davison
  • Shelley Dubkin-Lee
  • Melissa Grossman-Naples
  • Tanya Katz
  • Rachel Peck
  • John Reiman
  • Richard Sapon-White
  • Sarah Tuttle


Contact us by sending e-mail to The Beit Am Web Maven
To contact our office, send email to The Beit Am Office
To contact our Rabbi, send email to The Beit Am Rabbi
To contact the newsletter editor, send email to The Beit Am Newsletter Editor
Questions about the New Building? Email us.

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer